My First Day In The Afterlife


What a surprise that was, that there was something there. I was expecting nothingness and non-being. Possibly a slow fade to nothing. Instead I am hanging around this corpse, waiting to be burned to ashes in a couple of days. Surprisingly this doesn’t worry me in the least. Maybe I will fade then. Maybe I am but a dream of another me in another world.

Indifference. That’s the most descriptive word I can summon. Freed from the human tides of hormone fuelled emotion, I am at last at peace. Bland, uncomplicated, non-existence.

The physical will melt away back to its constituent parts. The mental has left it’s marks upon other minds in the world. Tears will cry for a heart that loved, and hatred dance upon the ground where my ashes are scattered.

What do you think?

