Back Seat Driving with the Band


I’m in a van with a band. All are female. We jam on percussion. The driver is facing me, not watching where she’s going. We don’t have musical coherence, though it’s fun. We pull off onto a side road, outside J’s house. She says she has 50 rooms. We use one to practise in. We discuss our aims. We decide we want to put in a show, with female percussionists flanking the audience, making them dance. We still don’t have any songs, any structure. I suggest we commit to a date to gig, and set goals working backwards from there, as I know that’s how I function best. 
I start to program beats and basslines. 

What do you think?

