Gym


I love exercising at the gym. I love the self righteous feeling of walking home before dawn in the rain, cooling off after exercise.
I don’t like the music at the gym. Pop pap pumped to make you move. You have to opt out, by default it’s opt in. Earplugs can’t complete silence the incessant din. Four screens flash to grab your attention, flickering like a Tetris snowstorm as the connection drops. Free wifi, stickers proclaim, but the connection just spins and spins, and you’re back to the shitty music again. No one talks, or smiles, or says hello. I close my eyes to focus inside, on my own breath, my own heart, to shut out the gym, and it’s built in extroversion bias. 

🏋🏼🏋🏼🏋🏼🏋🏼🏋🏼🏋🏼

One thought on “Gym

What do you think?

